Doubt

 

Doubt can be paralyzing and consuming. It can make us question who we are, where we are, and what we are doing. Let’s be real, it can just make us feel crappy and question everything! Doubt kills our trust and HOPE. The hope we all need to continue our day-to-day lives and believe in ourselves. I know that I struggle with doubt. Wondering if I am good enough at the things I am doing, if I am who my God needs me to be, if I am simply doing enough… and I know when I am going through a hard time, and my struggles seem overbearing, the doubt and questions really sink in…especially when the struggle has been going on for quite sometime.

 

So what do we do when this happens to us? When the doubt comes in and everything seems to stand still? …I know that in these times I just want to give up. I am tired and I have tried, and tried, and TRIED. I just don’t know what else to do and I feel at a loss…

I read an article on this exact topic and I have been trying to gather quotes and anything else that I can. My brain can fight me and seem to win at times, but I know I ultimately need to listen to my HEART. “Mental struggles can be healed like bones can”. The article I read was called, For Times of Trouble, by Elder Jeffrey R. Holland of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He says everything much better than I ever could and he really instills hope. I want to read it over and over again, but what I took from it the first time was: We must NEVER give up hope. Struggles may seem long lasting, but put your trust in The Lord. They will end!! The adversary is the one telling you to doubt, to give up…he is the one telling you that you can never change and that this is “just the way you are”. Elder Holland talks about that phrase and how much he hates it. How strongly he believes that it is not true…So don’t let yourself believe it either. I know I am one that can really do this to myself. I can doubt and question A LOT and I know this type of positive action is easier said than done, but it can be done. It can be practiced and your hope can increase. Things can and WILL get better. What is this life and the challenges we face without HOPE and TRUST? We all need it. Trust in your heart rather than your mind, and read this amazing article. I know you will find some great insight!

https://speeches.byu.edu/talks/jeffrey-r-holland_times-trouble/

“Doubt your doubts before you doubt your faith” –Dieter F. Ucthdorf

 

Leave a Reply

