Your Career

I feel like I often have conversations with friends and co-workers about our careers. About how we are, to some degree, dissatisfied with what we are doing and we want to do more. We want to find that career that gives us fulfillment and progression. Something that really helps people and pushes us. Something that pays us a good salary and makes us HAPPY. Sound familiar? “I don’t know what I am doing with my life” seems to be a popular phrase. I know it is for me.

So I have been thinking more about this and diving into any type of article I can find that might help myself, as well as those around me. We live in a day and age where things are at our fingertips. Where we have multiple and multiple options to choose from when it comes to a career, and we don’t have to stick with just one for the rest of our lives…but sometimes we still think that way.

We want to be able to find that ONE career right out of high school or college that is going to be the perfect fit. We are willing to make the investment and try, but if it ends up being subpar or not what we expected, we feel as though we have failed. OR we may feel like we made the investment, so now we are stuck with that one option for the rest of our lives. Neither of these are true.

Sure, there are many options to choose from when it comes to your career..almost too many that you don’t dare choose any. We can feel overwhelmed and paralyzed…but how will we ever know if we don’t try?? I know you have heard this before, but I don’t know if we really take it to heart.

When it comes to trying, I think it is about finding that balance between emotion and logic. Doing your research on career options in mind, asking questions, shadowing someone, etc. There are times though where you may have no idea and you just have to jump in! It may work out exactly how you hoped, or it may not..either way you can find so much to learn from it and the growth you experience will be worth it..even if you can’t see that right away. You want to give things time though. Don’t throw your try out the window because the first day was awful..give it a chance.

A lot of the time my mind starts to wonder to that question of “what am I doing with my life?” I have graduated from college and I don’t have that “big kid, good paying” job I expected myself to have in the field I studied. The more I think about it though, I am not sure that set, big kid job, is for me..at least right now. I have the opportunity to dabble in a lot of different career paths right now, and I forget to be grateful for that. I have 3 different jobs, all in completely different fields, and I am learning so much. Sure, they are probably not what I want to do forever, but I am TRYING, exploring, and challenging myself. I forget that it is pretty cool to have the opportunity to dabble, and even if these career paths don’t turn out exactly how I pictured, I have put myself out there and already grown so much from them. I really have felt that.

To be honest, I don’t know if there is that ONE career that fulfills everything you want..service, happiness, high salary. I think life is full of that exploration and finding fulfillment in all sorts of ways, inside and outside of work. I am still on that career path of figuring out what I want to do, but I think if I always carry that question and attitude, I will never really find what I am looking for. Of course I don’t want to settle, but I think I’ll get to certain points, and always be searching for more. “the grass is greener” mentality.

So for now, I am continuing to research and ask questions, but I am also trying to live in the moment and love my current jobs. I am trying to be patient and gentle with myself, and give these new investments a chance. REMEMBER, you don’t really know unless you try, and the only failure is not trying. Oh, and remember… nobody has it all figured out J

For some help on choosing your career path, check out this article..

 

http://lifehacker.com/top-10-ways-to-find-your-career-path-1628537579

Leave a Reply

